July 2017  

July Chapter Meeting: We’ve Got Your Back: How principle-centered communications amplify stakeholder engagement externally and internally

featuring Jeannine Brew, external communications manager for Verizon

Friday, July 21
11:45 a.m. - 1 p.m.
Register Here

Referencing recent crises managed, Verizon's Jeannine Brew will share the important role principle-centered communications serves in engaging stakeholders and achieving desired outcomes for organizations at any level. 

Jeannine leads all external communications for a 12-state market for Verizon Wireless, the nation’s largest and most reliable wireless carrier. In this role, Jeannine oversees communications strategy, planning and execution as well as guides critical partnerships that help elevate the Verizon brand in local communities. 

A seasoned communications professional with a proven track record of shaping perception to build brand equity and drive business performance, Jeannine’s experience includes media relations, crisis and issues management, employee and executive communications, social media, and corporate social responsibility.  Throughout her career, she has managed several high-profile brands in the technology, retail, hospitality and nonprofit sectors.

Jeannine earned a Bachelor of Arts Magna Cum Laude from Tuskegee University in Alabama and a Master of Business Administration from Texas Christian University.


Fast Forward

August Chapter Meeting
Friday, August 18
11:45 a.m.-1 p.m.

Join us in August for a “Get to know your fellow communication professionals” luncheon with a speed networking twist. Do you have a friend who is a professional communicator, but not a member of PRSA? Bring them to the August luncheon for an opportunity to network and get better acquainted with industry pros. You never know where the next job offer or business lead may come from. 

Back to top


ARcom Arkansas Marketing and Communications Event

Thursday, September 14
Arkansas Innovation Hub
201 E. Broadway Street | North Little Rock

The Arkansas Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America recognizes exceptional public relations programs and the skills of the state's practitioners, companies and organizations by presenting the annual Prism Awards. This year, we're teaming up with the International Association of Business Communicators to host a joint awards presentation ceremony on Thursday, Sept. 14, named the ARcom Arkansas Marketing and Communications Event.

Our chapter’s new partnership with IABC creates opportunities to build the audience for the Prism Awards event and amplify the reach of your sponsorship. It takes resources to host a quality event, so we need your help. Consider sponsoring a table (a great option if you plan to bring several team members or clients), or one of our categories: Single-Element or Multi-Element.

Email Prisms Chair Stella Prather, APR, at if you're interested in reviewing our sponsor packages.

Back to top

Past Arkansas PRSA President Bob Sells Dies

The Arkansas Chapter of PRSA extends our deepest sympathies to the family of Robert K. “Bob” Sells, APR, Fellow PRSA. Bob served as our chapter president in 1986 and was the founder of the Sells Agency. Together with Ben Combs, APR, Bob launched our chapter’s Prism Awards competition and was recognized at the 2014 Prism Awards in honor of the chapter’s 50th anniversary. Read his full memorial obituary in Talk Business.


Photo by David Lewis, APR

Back to top

Member News

We want to hear your good news. Notify Nikki Heck, APR, at to be featured in the next newsletter.

Connect with a Mentor

Interested in finding a PR mentor? Robin Mizell, APR, is leading our chapter’s efforts to connect emerging leaders with experienced pros in our chapter. If you’d like help getting connected with a potential mentor, contact Robin at Visit our website to learn more about the mentor program.

Maximize Your Network: Join a PRSA Committee

Looking to make new connections, get more involved in PRSA and help advance our field? Sign up to participate on a PRSA committee. We can use your help with Programming, Hospitality, Prism Awards, PRSSA student/chapter outreach, Membership, Communications and APR process/programs. Email Sarah Kinser at to learn more.


Have you explored MyPRSA? MyPRSA is PRSA’s members-only, secure, private community that empowers PRSA members to create meaningful communication and share resources. In addition to this versatile community and resource library, you will have access to all of your membership account information. Be sure to take advantage of this valuable member benefit.


Back to top

Job Bank

Search for employment or submit a classified through our online job bank

Back to top

Summer Promotion: Free Section

Timeframe: June 1 – July 31, 2017

New members receive a free, one-year Section membership (up to $60) when they join National as a Regular member ($255 annual dues + $65 initiation fee). If joining Counselors Academy, dues are $100 ($95 discount). Use promo code SUMMER17.

RESTRICTIONS: Chapter dues are additional. This offer is not valid for Associate member types ($200 or less annual dues) and current/renewing members. Refer to for details.


Back to top